: Muzej OrmožAddress
: Kolodvorska 9 2270 OrmožPhone
: ++386 31 433 212, ++386 2 741 72 90e-mail
Ormož Castle ranks amongst the most important cultural and historical monuments. Its history is closely connected with the turbulence surrounding the Austro-Hungarian border. The castle originated around the year 1278, when King Rudolph allowed Frederic of Ptuj to build a castle on the Salzburg. It was one of the mightiest Ptuj-Salzburg feudal posts on the southern edge of the Slovenske gorice Hills. The original steepled castle was built by the Lords of Ptuj and managed by the Knights of Ormož and after the year 1363, the Herbersteins. After the year 1441 the castle owners were the Schaunbergi, the Frankopan Counts, and then the Szekelys until the year 1604, the Pethe Barons until the year 1710, and later the Galleri and Konigsacker Counts, the industrials Pauers, Barons Werners and Čoks, and the Pongratz family. However, since the year 1910 until the end of WWII, it was owned by the Wurmbrand Counts. The castle was burned down in the battles with Hungarians in the year 1487, nor it was spared by the Turks in the year 1532. The castle complex developed around a rectangular courtyard which is surrounded by four two floor wings, however, on one of the corners is a mighty multi-storeyed tower. In the west castle wing are painted halls, the work of the classicist painter Alojz Gleichenperg. The castle is surrounded by a wonderful extensive park, one of the most beautiful in our territory, which were preserved also during the turbulent post-war times. Today the castle, together with the park which boasts numerous exotic plants, is an entire and unique monument, exemplarily arranged and maintained, the museum collection at the castle acquaints the visitors with detailed basic data from the history of Ormož and its nearby surroundings.
Visits of the castle are possible during the week between 12.00 and 15.00, however, on Saturdays between 10.00 and 14.00. Visits outside the times given are possible if arranged in advance.